Most Individuals Are Good People with Good Intentions. Is That Good Enough?

Most of us mean well and try to do the right thing in our daily lives. That calls for more radical thinking, not less.

Adam M. Lowenstein
9 min readApr 11, 2020
Well-meaning people at work. Photo credit: Dylan Gillis/Unsplash

This article is the sixth in an eight-part series. Read part one here, part two here, part three here, part four here, and part five here.

In the fall of 2017, after spending the better part of a decade working on or around Capitol Hill, I left politics and entered a different line of work in a different culture on a different continent. In making this professional transition from public to private sector, from the business of government to the business of business (a fairly common transition for creatures of the system like me), I thought my political perspective would shift further toward that doctrinaire beliefs in trade-offs and tough choices that I adopted and espoused as a serious and responsible progressive.

Much to my surprise, it didn’t. In fact, my worldview has moved entirely in the opposite direction. As this series reflects, I’ve begun to rethink many of the rules I’d previously accepted. I’ve begun to wonder where they came from and why I absorbed them so seamlessly. I’ve begun to doubt whether it’s possible to overcome the most fundamental challenges facing…

--

--

Adam M. Lowenstein

Author of “Reframe the Day” & former U.S. Senate speechwriter. I write about politics and life, occasionally at the same time. Subscribe & more: www.adaml.blog.